La Jolla Playhouse to launch honoree program at gala

La Jolla Playhouse will roll out a new format for its annual gala on March 27 to begin a tradition of honoring alumni artists and benefactors who have helped put the Playhouse at the forefront of American theater.

The La Jolla Playhouse Honors 2010 inaugural benefactor honoree will be Joan and Irwin Jacobs and their family. This year’s artist honorees include actors Jefferson Mays, UCSD M.F.A. graduate and Tony Award winner for Doug Wright’s Pulitzer Prize-winning play, “I Am My Own Wife,” which originated at the Playhouse as the theater’s first Page to Stage production; Neil Patrick Harris, who starred in La Jolla Playhouse’s productions of “Rent” and “Luck, Pluck and Virtue” and Emmy Award-nominated star of the television series “How I Met Your Mother”; Charlayne Woodard, who has made numerous Playhouse appearances and premiered her award-winning production of “The Night Watcher” here in 2008; and renowned costume and set designer Susan Hilferty, who designed numerous Playhouse productions, including “Creditors,” “How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying,” “Fortinbras,” “A Lesson from Aloes” and “The Captain’s Tiger,” among many others.

The star-studded event will take place at La Jolla Playhouse, starting with a reception under the stars in the Sheila and Hughes Potiker Lobby and Courtyard at 6 p.m., followed by dinner in the Potiker Theatre, featuring a gourmet cuisine by Wolfgang Puck Catering accompanied by hand-selected fine wines at 7 p.m.

The evening caps off with a theatrical production in the Mandell Weiss Theatre at 8:30 pm, highlighted by performances by selected honorees and such special guests as Playhouse Director Emeritus Des McAnuff and his Red Dirt Band.

Debby and Deni Jacobs are the gala co-chairs. Proceeds from the event will benefit La Jolla Playhouse’s New Play Development and Educational & Outreach Programs. The gala is sponsored by Qualcomm. Other corporate supporters include DLA Piper LLP, Van Cleef & Arpels and Merrill Lynch.

For more information and tickets ($500-$5,000), contact Jennifer Tom at (858) 550-1070, ext. 143, or

About the Playhouse
The La Jolla Playhouse is known for its tradition of creating adventurous new work in regional theater. The Playhouse was founded in 1947 by Gregory Peck, Dorothy McGuire and Mel Ferrer, and is one of the most respected, not-for-profit theaters in the country. Located on the UCSD campus, La Jolla Playhouse is made up of three performance spaces: the Mandell Weiss Theatre; the Mandell Weiss Forum Theatre; and the Joan and Irwin Jacobs Center for La Jolla Playhouse, a state-of-the-art theater complex that features the Sheila and Hughes Potiker Theatre.

Related posts:

  1. LJ Playhouse names Moxie Theatre as resident theater company
  2. New Play Festival on its way to UCSD in April
  3. Play addresses inadequate school systems
  4. Playhouse opens next Page to Stage production
  5. Renewal of self portrayed in LJ Playhouse’s ‘Restoration’

Short URL:

Posted by on Mar 11, 2010. Filed under Archives. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply



Bottom Buttons 1

Bottom Buttons 2

Bottom Buttons 3

Bottom Buttons 4

Bottom Buttons 5

Bottom Buttons 6





  • Community input received on proposed health club and pool facility in Rancho Santa Fe
    About 100 Rancho Santa Fe residents showed up on Friday, Oct. 17, for a health club and pool community meeting, the last outreach before ballots were mailed on Monday, Oct. 20. On the ballots, members are being asked whether the Rancho Santa Fe Association should spend $350,000 on a professional planning phase for the potential new community amenity. RSF Ass […]
  • Czech violin duo to perform at Village Church in Rancho Santa Fe
    In cooperation with the Consulate General of the Czech Republic, the Czech School San Diego hosts a free classical violin concert by internationally recognized Czech violin player Jaroslav Svecený and his daughter, Julie Svecená, who are on a tour of the United States. The concert will be at 7 p.m. Oct. 27 in the Village Church. The father-daughter duo will […]
  • Rancho Santa Fe weekly sports update
    Torrey Pines defeated Canyon Crest Academy 4-3 in a Palomar League opener for both teams on Oct. 9. Alayna Tomlinson and Farah Farjood each scored two goals to lead the Falcons. Samantha “Sammy” Cirino added one goal and one assist. […]