Torrey Pines boys soccer teams enjoy winning seasons

TPHS varsity team: front row: Etai Sherabi, Rui Adachi, Alex Mejia, Tristan Bodmer, Ramsey Sutton, Chandler Bleakley, JT Esquibel, Parker Klein, Austin Freel, Jason Burton, Mikey Reed, Sam Horton, Jeremy Dinkin, Jake Heilbrunn; back row: Dean Meltz, Ryan McKee, Patrick Davis, Eddie Bazua, Colin Brown, Scott LaBeau, Johnny Chorbajian, Max Grust, Brett Sampiere, Garrett Heine, Parker Radford, Justin Liu, Chris Smith, Scott Skinner, Lucas Dousette, coach Andy Hargreaves

The 2011-2012 season has been a huge success for the Torrey Pines boys soccer program. All three levels have experienced winning seasons while playing very attractive soccer.

TPHS freshman team: top row, from left: coach Adam Meltz; Kale Thompson; Eren Esner; Noah Levinson; Brandon Wright; Alec Turner; Mathew Moldenhauer; Blake McAtee; Mathew Botsford; Mathew Coughlin; Robin Elihu; Michael Poulos; Bottom row, left-right: Cameroon Brantz; Ben Engfelt; Arvon Oskoui; Bailey Buckley; Cole LaPolla; Brandon Hong; Jagger Havlik; Ryan Friedman; Liam Kelly; Simon Ilko; Allen Katz

The freshman team has outscored all of their opponents every game and maintained one of the best defensive records in the county. There was a stretch of 9 games where they never even conceded a goal. After winning the Poway invitational they blasted through the Palomar League comfortably handling all of their opponents.

The junior varsity team had an equally impressive season finishing with a 24-1-1 record. Having won the Santana tournament they fought a tough contest in the final of the Poway invitational losing on PK’s. The Palomar league gave them a platform to go undefeated and show a style of soccer that any soccer fan would love to watch.

The varsity team has had an outstanding season winning both the Santana tournament and the Southern Cal Invitational tournaments. They started 2012 with a very difficult schedule to help them prepare for the weekly battles of the Palomar league. They clinched the Palomar League Title with a win against Ramona on Feb. 16.

TPHS JV team: front row: Brian Graybill, Jake Heilbrunn, Erik Mejia, Hunter Willoughby, Brandon Liu, Aaron Levis, Charlie Duckett, Alex Baracchini, Patrick Koeneke, Jordan Katz, Jack Dempsey, Tyler Valdes, Luke Sampiere, Jonah Besquin; left row: coach Danny Berthiaume, Connor Hargreaves, Claudio Ghetti, John Roussos, Elliot Patrick, Tyler Laird, Brian Ko, Austin Nicholson, Erik McKee, Uri Bialostozky, Thomas Mackey, Brandon Bettig, Louie DeFrancesco, Eli Bessudo, Tyler Elwell

“I am very happy with the level of commitment and excellence from all of the players at each level. The players and coaches have done an excellent job of playing the game the right way while still having success. It can be a fine line between sacrificing your style for results and I feel we never had to and that is a good place to be,” said head coach Andy Hargreaves.

Please come out and support Torrey Pines this Friday, Feb. 24, at home, for their first CIF game.

Related posts:

  1. CCA Boys Varsity Soccer Team Grossmont Tournament finalists
  2. Torrey Pines boys, girls soccer teams victorious
  3. Torrey Pines JV soccer team tops at tournament
  4. Torrey Pines JV Soccer team finalists at Invitational
  5. Week in Sports: Torrey Pines lacrosse teams win division titles

Short URL:

Posted by Staff on Feb 21, 2012. Filed under Featured Story, Prep Sport, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply



Bottom Buttons 1

Bottom Buttons 2

Bottom Buttons 3

Bottom Buttons 4

Bottom Buttons 5

Bottom Buttons 6





  • Community input received on proposed health club and pool facility in Rancho Santa Fe
    About 100 Rancho Santa Fe residents showed up on Friday, Oct. 17, for a health club and pool community meeting, the last outreach before ballots were mailed on Monday, Oct. 20. On the ballots, members are being asked whether the Rancho Santa Fe Association should spend $350,000 on a professional planning phase for the potential new community amenity. RSF Ass […]
  • Czech violin duo to perform at Village Church in Rancho Santa Fe
    In cooperation with the Consulate General of the Czech Republic, the Czech School San Diego hosts a free classical violin concert by internationally recognized Czech violin player Jaroslav Svecený and his daughter, Julie Svecená, who are on a tour of the United States. The concert will be at 7 p.m. Oct. 27 in the Village Church. The father-daughter duo will […]
  • Rancho Santa Fe weekly sports update
    Torrey Pines defeated Canyon Crest Academy 4-3 in a Palomar League opener for both teams on Oct. 9. Alayna Tomlinson and Farah Farjood each scored two goals to lead the Falcons. Samantha “Sammy” Cirino added one goal and one assist. […]