Mets win Del Mar Little League Majors Championship

Top row, from left: coach Rick Sanborn, Jake Scott, AJ Mattingly, coach Mark Mattingly, Parker Williams, Ryan Sanborn, coach Tom Lofaro; bottom row: Anthony Hadnot, Tyler Lofaro, Cole Shearson, Nick Pauley, Corbin Fricker, Zach Schwartzberg, Jake Farfel, Jacob Anfuso (and team booster Lil’Pauley).

The Del Mar Little League Majors Championship was decided on Saturday, June 1, with coach Mark Mattingly’s National League Champion Mets taking on coach Joe Caprice’s American League Champion Rangers. The game was scoreless through three innings with superb pitching by the Mets’ Parker Williams and the Rangers’ Bryson Shores.

In the fourth inning, AJ Mattingly hits a lead-off double, and the Mets take the lead on a Ryan Sanborn two-run homerun. The Mets add an insurance run in the fifth inning with a Jake Scott lead-off double and Jacob Anfuso’s follow-up clutch base hit. In the end, the Mets win the Del Mar Little League Majors Championship (the Del Mar Cup) 3-0. This championship marks coach Mattingly’s second Del Mar Little League Championship in three years.

Related posts:

  1. 2013 Del Mar American Little League Rangers win Championship
  2. Del Mar Powerhouse 8U Runner-Up in SDTBL League Championship Tournament
  3. Del Mar Little League Championship
  4. Record-breaking honorees for the Del Mar Little League Academic All American Program
  5. Rock Hounds win AA Del Mar Little League Championship

Short URL:

Posted by Staff on Jun 25, 2013. Filed under Clubs, Featured Story, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply



Bottom Buttons 1

Bottom Buttons 2

Bottom Buttons 3

Bottom Buttons 4

Bottom Buttons 5

Bottom Buttons 6





  • Alumni and Advancement Center named for longtime supporters Larry and Cindy Bloch of Rancho Santa Fe
    The University of Rochester’s Alumni and Advancement Center in Rochester, N.Y. has been renamed the Larry and Cindy Bloch Alumni and Advancement Center in recognition of the couple’s support of the university and, in particular, its Advancement programs. In a ceremony on Wednesday, Oct. 15, UR President Joel Seligman formally dedicated the center in honor of […]
  • RSF Association Board Biz: It’s fire season: Be prepared
    The Rancho Santa Fe Fire Protection District (RSFFPD) was officially formed in 1946, in the aftermath of a devastating fire that took place in 1943 and destroyed brush, farmland and homes from Rancho Bernardo through Rancho Santa Fe, all the way to Solana Beach and Del Mar. Today the Fire District spans 38 square miles and protects nearly 30,000 residents. W […]
  • Rancho Santa Fe couple lead way in helping those with thyroid disorders
    Few people may know that Graves’ disease is one of the most common autoimmune diseases afflicting Americans today. Fewer still may know that the only national non-profit dedicated to its patients is headquartered in Rancho Santa Fe. The Graves’ Disease and Thyroid Foundation, co-chaired by Rancho Santa Fe residents Kathleen Bell Flynn and Steve Flynn, has be […]