New City council members sworn in, others honored

A special “swearing in” meeting was held Dec. 13 at City Hall for recently elected/re-elected Encinitas City Council members Mark Muir, Tasha Boerner Horvath and Deputy Mayor Tony Kranz, and for new Mayor Catherine Blakespear. A ceremonial event was also held to honor outgoing Mayor Kristin Gaspar and Deputy Mayor Lisa Shaffer. A public reception was held after the meeting. For more, see the story on page 1.