Corporate Directors Forum adds Carmel Valley resident to its 2015-2016 board


Corporate Directors Forum, a San Diego-based nonprofit providing corporate governance education, has appointed local KPMG LLP Managing Partner Beth Altman and former CareFusion CEO David Schlotterbeck to its board of directors.

The newest board members join 29 other corporate governance experts representing some of San Diego’s most respected and influential companies.

Altman, a Carmel Valley resident, is managing partner of accounting firm KPMG’s local office. The first woman to hold the position in the office’s history, she joined KPMG in 1993 and was named partner in 2004. Altman graduated from Indiana University with a bachelor’s degree in accounting and is a member of the California Society of Certified Public Accountants and the American Institute of CPAs.

Her expertise spans from startups to international, publicly traded companies in industries including technology, consumer goods and life sciences. She sits on four local non-profit boards, including CDF, and advises many other public and private company boards through her work with KPMG.

Schlotterbeck, a highly regarded name in the health care industry, has held chairman and CEO positions for three public and two private companies and was a vice-chairman of a Fortune 20 firm. He has led nine successful turnarounds, guided two startups through mergers with Fortune 200 companies, completed two initial public offerings and raised $6 billion in financings. He has been a director of more than 14 public, private and nonprofit organizations, including CDF.

“Ms. Altman and Mr. Schlotterbeck are an excellent addition to Corporate Directors Forum bringing exceptional experience advising and leading successful boards and companies,” said Julia Brown, Corporate Directors Forum’s 2015-2016 board chairwoman and on the board of directors of Biodel, Inc. and Cleveland BioLabs, Inc. “We believe better boards make better companies, and we are thrilled to welcome them to ours.”

In addition to Schlotterbeck and Altman, returning directors include Chair Julia Brown, Vice-chair John Skousen, Secretary Bruce Doyle III, Treasurer Dan Schreiber, Membership Committee Chair Adrian Atilano, 2015 Director of the Year Co-chair Jack Yelverton, Education Committee Chair Mike Berthelot, Programs Committee Chair Christina de Vaca; and directors at large, Annalisa Barrett, Cass Cassidy, Randall Clark, Rich Collato, Fred Dawn, David Down, Steve Ferruolo, Lesley Howe, Mike McCloskey, John Niedernhofer, Jan Patterson, David Pendarvis, Tony Rodriguez, Donald Rosenberg, Lloyd Rowland, Dave Salisbury, Kathy Scott, Scott Stanton, Judy Thompson, Ken Wechsler and Scott Wolfe.

To learn more, visit