Elementary school district ballots set for November


Both the Solana Beach and Del Mar Union School District will have contested elections this November.

The Solana Beach School District has four candidates for three available seats. Incumbents President Debra Schade and board member Vicki King will seek re-election alongside new candidates Gaylin Allbaugh, Solana Beach Schools Foundation site co-president for Solana Highlands School and Julie Westcott O’Dell, an attorney.

Clerk Holly Lewry will not seek re-election after the completion of her four year term.

The Del Mar Union School District has six candidates for three seats on the board. Incumbents Doug Rafner and Scott Wooden will go up against teacher/counselor Katherine Fitzpatrick, parent/volunteer Libby Hellmann, attorney Gee Wah Mok and IT enterprise architect Chris Tyler.

Kristin Gibson, current DMUSD board president, is running for the San Dieguito Union High School District board in area 5.