Torrey Pines honors athletes at Freddie Awards

The CIF State Champion boys soccer team was named Boys Team of the Year.
(Anna Scipione)

Torrey Pines High School hosted its 4th annual Freddie Awards show on May 30 to celebrate another great year of athletic achievement. The Falcons earned two state, nine regional and 15 league championship titles in the 2017-18 academic year.

Female Athlete of the Year Sophia LeRose, lacrosse Anna Scipione
Male Athlete of the Year Joe Magrisi,baseball Anna Scipione

Highlights included the boys soccer and golf teams winning the California CIF State Championships and the boys lacrosse team earning the equivalent with their #1 ranking by MaxPreps. Torrey Pines San Diego CIF Championship teams included boys and girls tennis (28th consecutive title), girls volleyball, boys and girls lacrosse, boys golf, boys and girls swim & dive and baseball.

Swimmers representing the Girls Team of the Year Anna Scipione
Kiara McNulty, Sportsman of the Year Anna Scipione

Freddie award winners: Male Athlete of the Year: Joey Magrisi, baseball; Female Athlete of the Year: Sophia LeRose, girls lacrosse; Girls Team of the Year: Girls swim and dive; Boys Team of the Year: Boys soccer; Rookie of the Year: Tatum Lenain, soccer; Most Inspirational Team: Boys lacrosse; Sportsman of the Year: Kiara McNulty, Girls volleyball; JV/Frosh Team of the Year: JV boys lacrosse; Coach of the Year: Brennan Dean, Girls volleyball; Falcon Faithful (Fan of the Year): Jim Harrah.

JV Team of the Year: Lacrosse Anna Scipione
Rookie of the Year Tatum Lenain Anna Scipione

Forty seniors were also honored with the “Next Level Falcon Award.” These scholar athletes were acknowledged as one of the largest senior class of recruits from any high school in San Diego County.

Next Level athletes Anna Scipione
Most Inspirational Team: Boys lacrosse Anna Scipione

The following are the Next Level Falcon Award honorees who have committed to continue their athletic and academic success at 33 colleges and universities nationwide:

Air Force Academy: Jonathan Farmer, golf

Bryant University: Ryan Ramirez, lacrosse

Brigham Young University: Kate Thomas, track

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo: Sully O’Brien, football

Carnegie Mellon: Brian Bae, soccer

University of Chicago: Lauren Zhang, lacrosse

Colorado Mesa University: Savanna Liedy, triathlon

Cornell: Jordan Blitz, swimming

Duke University: Sophia LeRose, lacrosse and Hannah Zhao, tennis

Cal State Fullerton: Joey Magrisi, baseball

McKendree University: Matthew Rodriguez, volleyball

University of Michigan: Spencer Grant, lacrosse

Naval Academy: Makail Fabroni, lacrosse

North Carolina: Evan Egan, lacrosse

Northwestern University: Kiara McNulty, volleyball

Notre Dame: Jonathan Ford, lacrosse

University of Pennsylvania: Daniela Forniciari, volleyball

Point Loma Nazarene: Nik Speshilov, tennis

University of Richmond: Shayne Grant, lacrosse

Texas Christian University: Isabella Aguiar, cross country/track

Temple University: Santiago Majewski, soccer

Sacramento State: Jade Cany track and Wanda Deriot, gymnastics

San Diego State University: Arielle Shahrabani and Kelli McKinnon, lacrosse

Southeastern Louisiana: Chloe Gallo, soccer

UC Berkeley: James Song, golf; Ryan Poe, field hockey; Louis Bickett, football; Bailee Monjazeb, lacrosse

UC Los Angeles: Jaden Whitmarsh, beach volleyball

UC Santa Barbara: Jessica Wright, soccer

UC San Diego: Bri Severino, volleyball

University of Southern California: Kendall Burnett, baseball

University of San Diego: Finnian Sullivan, basketball

Virginia Military Institute: Genevieve Petrassi, water polo

Westmont College: Rachal Jackson, tennis

Yale: Kathy Wang, tennis