Solana Beach City Council picks mayor


Solana Beach City Councilman David Zito will assume they city’s unoccupied mayor’s post when the council meets again July 10.

Council members voted 4-0 on Wednesday, June 27, with Lesa Heebner absent, to name Zito to the position, while they picked Councilwoman Jewel Edson to serve as deputy mayor.

In his capacity as deputy mayor, Zito has been the city’s acting mayor since the previous mayor, Ginger Marshall, unexpectedly resigned from the council in early April.

Solana Beach’s mayors are chosen through a rotation system, in which council members decide at the end of the year who will occupy the position for the next year.

Mayors are responsible for running council meetings and representing the city at various official and civic functions. The deputy mayor fills in when the mayor is unavailable.

The rotation system, which has been in use since Solana Beach became a city in 1986, will be discarded after 2020, when the city’s electorate will vote to decide who will be mayor. Starting that year, council members will be elected by districts rather than at large.

In response to a legal challenge based on the California Voting Rights Act, Solana Beach, like many other cities, opted to scrap the at-large system.

The council Tuesday, June 26, approved a map dividing the city into four council districts for future elections, while the city’s voters will choose the mayor separately.