Associated Student Body presidents honored virtually this year


Student body presidents from all over San Diego County will be honored this month at the 64th annual Washington-Lincoln Laurels for Leaders awards ceremony.

The nearly 100 high school seniors are being recognized for the work they’ve done to improve their schools and boost morale during the COVID-19 pandemic at the 64th annual Washington-Lincoln Laurels for Leaders awards ceremony.

The annual celebration, held virtually this year, is an opportunity for associated student body presidents to network and build life skills that will help them succeed in college and beyond. The students also receive a stipend.

The ceremony is live at 3 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 23 on the Laurels for Leaders YouTube channel.

The nonprofit Washington-Lincoln Laurels for Leaders was established in 1957 to honor ASB presidents at San Diego County high schools. The annual event typically includes workshops on leadership and financial education as well as a luncheon featuring these young leaders surrounded by their parents, educators, and community leaders.

“This year, the pandemic created ASB leadership challenges that required a resilience and fortitude beyond any of the prior 63 years of the Laurels for Leaders celebration,” said Gordon Boerner, U.S. Bank senior vice president and president of the Laurels for Leaders board, in a statement. The Downtown San Diego Kiwanis Club and the Laurels for Leaders board were determined to honor these future leaders with a virtual event, he added.

This year’s honorees are: Rosie Alchalel, San Diego Jewish Academy; Noah Alexander, Mira Mesa High School; Natalia Alhanoush, Monte Vista High School; Alyson Arkin, Henry High School; Samantha Bambao, San Diego School of Creative & Performing Arts; John Bentley, Del Lago Academy; Tatum Bernet, Valley Center High School; Carter Blom, Sage Creek High School; Julia Blount, Classical Academy High School; Brianna Brown, Hoover High School; Gabriella Bruce, University City High School; Izak Bunda, Guajome Park Academy;

Marissa Caguioa, Mater Dei Catholic School; Perla Calderas, Palomar High School; Eric Carlsson-Zhang, Army and Navy Academy; Maya Castorena, Serra High School; Makaila Caswall Cabrera, Mar Vista High School; Anissa Chavarria, San Diego High School; Aaron Chizhik, Mt. Everest Academy; Lauren Clark, Santa Fe Christian Upper School; Joseph Colarusso, Eastlake High School; Isolina Delgado, Lincoln High School; Grace Drum, Ramona High School; Zuadi Farah, Preuss School UCSD; Haley Fernandez, Otay Ranch High School; Janalyn Finnie, Mission Bay High School;

Kiara Garcia, San Ysidro High School; Sammie Gonzalez, IDEA Center; Ayleen Gonzalez, Southwest High School; Eva Grunburg, Cathedral Catholic High School; Ava Guerra, Granite Hills High School; Michelle Hagoriles, Morse High School;
Colby Harris, Twin Oaks High School; Yizel Hernandez, Castle Park High School; Nicole Hill, Bonita Vista High School; Fiorella Hunter, Academy of Our Lady of Peace; Saw Kay, E3 Civic High; Austin Kingston, La Jolla High School; David Kolivayko, Rancho Buena Vista High School;

Yesenia Lara, Monte Vista High School; Perla Jocelin Lares, Julian Union High School; Gavin Lee, The Bishop’s School; Jessica Irene Limcolioc, Montgomery High School; Elle Mangini, La Jolla Country Day School; Brian Martinez, Chula Vista High School; Valeria Martinez, Orange Glen High School; Kiley McGill, Steele Canyon High School; Alexa Mendes, San Dieguito High School Academy; Madison Migliori, Mt. Carmel High School; Zachary Miszkiewicz, Escondido Charter High School; Kody Mongold, Westview High School; Kimberly Moniz, San Pasqual High School; Audiana Montalvo, Oceanside High School; Mia Montillano, Olympian High School; Kelli Morris, Coronado High School; Jake Murray, Poway High School;

Amy Nguyen, Rancho Bernardo High School; Jacob Noble, Torrey Pines High School; Paulette Nungaray, Sweetwater High School; Katherine Papen, Mt. Everest Academy; Khloee Payne, El Capitan High School; Shannon Phengmixay, Kearny High School; Julia Pino, Twain High School; Jwan Qoja, El Cajon Valley High School; Katherine Rabasco, Helix Charter High School; Melissa Ramírez, Vista High School; Addison Rhee, Carlsbad High School; Aidaly Robledo, Garfield High School; Carson Robles, La Costa Canyon High School; Paul Romano, Fallbrook High School; Sophia Romei, San Diego MET; Juliana Sanchez, Hilltop High School; Aldo Sanchez, iHigh Virtual Academy; Austin Schultz, Mission Hills High School; Joseph Selfani, St. Augustine High School; Kaylie Shadburn, Scripps Ranch High School; Brianna Shea, El Camino High School; Miranda Sherwood, Tri-City Christian School; Maya Silberstein, San Diego Jewish Academy; Cameron Smith, Madison High School; Deverin Smith, Valhalla High School; Kayla Souvannaleut, Mount Miguel High School; Grace Stewart, West Hills High School; Carrie Su, Canyon Crest Academy;

Maya Tamir, San Diego MET; Jada Toeuk, Crawford High School; Jose Torres, Del Norte High School; Lidasia Tull, Grossmont High School; Alexandra Valle, Mountain Empire High School; Katlyn Vickery, Santana High School; Faye Vuong, Escondido High School; Hayden Weber, San Marcos High School; Devonne Williams, East Village Middle College High School; Madelyn Wozniak, Point Loma High School.


— Laura Groch is a reporter for The San Diego Union Tribune