2012 Drew Brees Celebrity Championship is May 18-20 at La Costa Resort and Spa


New Orleans Saints Pro Bowl quarterback Drew Brees met with media members April 10 to speak about the upcoming 2012 Drew Brees Celebrity Championship at a press conference.

The tournament, set for May 18-20, will feature more than 50 of the biggest names from sports and entertainment. Stars scheduled to appear include returning champion, Tony Romo, from “The Office” actor Brian Baumgartner, Actor and Comedian Peter Dante, Jack Wagner (actor, 2010 champion), Trent Dilfer, Bruce Jenner, Ray Romano, Darren Sproles, Marshall Faulk, Rollie Fingers, Dan Jansen, Jack Marin, Rick Rhoden, Josh Scobee, Billy Joe Tolliver, Adrian Young, Jerry Rice, Mickey Tettleton, Mark Mulder, Neil Lomax, Grant Fuhr, Trent Edwards, Jeraine Dye, Tom Dreeson, Kyle Boller, Goose Gossage, Nate Kaeding, Jesse Orosco, Truck Robinson, Bret Boone, John Congemi, Peter Dante, to name a few.

“I’m excited to be back in San Diego and especially excited to be continuing the partnership with the Celebrity Championship,” said Drew Brees. “It’s great to be here at our new venue, La Costa Resort and Spa.”

Entering its 14th year as one of San Diego’s premier sport hospitality events, the Drew Brees Celebrity Championship adds to its appeal this year by moving to the newly-renovated La Costa Resort and Spa in Carlsbad. A percentage of ticket sales, auction proceeds and sponsor sales proceeds will benefit the Brees Dream Foundation to support its ongoing efforts in the San Diego community. Brees recognized the organizations that the Brees Dream Foundation will donate charitable proceeds to at the press conference, including Rady Children’s Hospital, San Diego Armed Services YMCA, Friends of Scott Foundation, and the National Multiple Sclerosis Society - Pacific South Coast Chapter. The Brees Dream Foundation distributed over $181,000 from monies raised at the 2011 Drew Brees Celebrity Championship to these San Diego-based charities.

The Drew Brees Celebrity Championship is comprised of a celebrity-amateur tournament (Friday and Saturday, May 18-19) and a 36-hole celebrity competition (Saturday and Sunday, May 19-20), featuring more than 50 celebrity golfers competing for a projected purse of $100,000.

NFL Quarterback Tony Romo took the winning title at the 2011 tournament, while other past winners include standouts from each of the four major American sports – football, baseball, basketball and hockey.

For more information, visit www.CelebrityChampionship.com. For more information about the Brees Dream Foundation, visit www.drewbrees.com. Follow Drew Brees on Twitter @drewbrees; www.twitter.com/drewbrees.