ARC honors Scientist of the Year, scholars

Achievement Rewards for College Scientists, San Diego chapter, celebrated “An Evening in Paradise” as the organization recognized V.S. Ramachandran, M.D., Ph.D., as the 2014 Scientist of the Year at its April 4 dinner that was attended by more than 400 supporters at Paradise Point Resort.

A highlight of the evening was the recognition of the 57 ARCS scholars who received $405,000 from the chapter for the 2013-14 academic year. This distinguished group of young scientists is earning degrees at San Diego State University, University of San Diego, The Scripps Research Institute and UC San Diego, including Scripps Institution of Oceanography.

The dinner co-chairs were Betty Brayshay and Marla Black. ARCS President Diane Annala Chalmers welcomed the dinner guests, and Robert Dynes, President pmeritus, University of California, introduced Dr. Ramachandran, who spoke about “What Brain Research Can Tell Us About the Human Mind.”

Dr. Ramachandran is best known for his experiments in behavorial neurology which have had a profound impact on the way that we think about the brain. He has been called “The Marco Polo of neuroscience” by Richard Dawkins and “The modern Paul Broca” by Eric Kandel. Dr. Ramachandran has published more than 180 papers in scientific journals.

The mission of ARCS is to advance science and technology in the U.S. by providing financial assistance to academically outstanding U.S. Citizens studying to complete degrees in science, engineering and medical research. Since the San Diego chapter began in 1985, 1,080 Scholar Awards totaling $7,972,000 have been granted. The San Diego chapter has 153 members.

Photos by stuart paul hartley