Carmel Valley and Earl Warren middle schools named as California distinguished schools

By City News Service

Eight high schools and middle schools in San Diego County, as well as three specialty schools, were among 218 named as California distinguished schools on April 11.

“These schools have gone the extra mile to provide high-quality instruction that puts their students on the right path toward career and college,’’ Tom Torlakson, state superintendent of public instruction, said.

“Given the enormous challenges schools have faced in recent years, it is inspiring to see this kind of success in so many schools.’’

Selection is based on grades and closing performance gaps among demographic groups.

The honored high schools are:

•Classical Academy, in Escondido;

• Granite Hills and Grossmont, in El Cajon;

• Del Norte, in 4S Ranch;

•Health Sciences and the Kearny International Business School, in San


•Eastlake, in Chula Vista; and

•Valley Center.

The middle schools included on the list are:

• EJE Middle Academy, in El Cajon;

• Aviara Oaks, in Carlsbad;

• Parkway, in La Mesa;

•Olive Pierce, in Ramona;

• Carmel Valley, in San Diego;

• Earl Warren, in Solana Beach; and

• Bonita Vista and Eastlake, in Chula Vista;

The other schools recognized were Mount Everest Academy in San Diego and, in Vista, Guajome Park Academy Charter and the School for Integrated Academics and Technology.

The state recognizes elementary schools in alternate years.