Carmel Valley Bobcats win second straight field hockey championship

The 2012 Carmel Valley Middle School Bobcats championship field hockey team.

Finishing off the best season in team history, the Carmel Valley Middle School Bobcats clawed their way to a second straight Big 8 Conference field hockey title in early March, but not without a bit of confusion and controversy at the very end.

Beating every team they played at least once, the Bobcats racked up their first-ever undefeated season with seven wins and three ties against foes from around San Diego County.

CVMS won the Big 8 regular season outright by defeating the Earl Warren Seahawks, Diegueno Cougars and Oak Crest Waves. Even more impressive was a 2-1 non-conference victory over perennial field hockey power DePortola Panthers, the first time the Bobcats have ever beaten the Tierrasanta-based team.

The Bobcats carried the momentum of that big win into the playoffs, beating Wargles of Escondido 2-0 on goals by Shannon Yogerst and Dani Jackel. That set up a championship showdown with Oak Crest, victors over Earl Warren in the other semifinal. The same two teams faced each other in last year’s championship game, which came down to penalty strokes after overtime, with the Bobcats out-shooting the Waves 2-1 to take home their first Big 8 title.

This year’s final was almost a carbon copy. The Bobcats jumped to an early lead when midfielder Gabi Jimenez scored out of a scrum in front of the Oak Crest goal. The Waves tied the game late in the second half. Although CVMS dominated the 7-7 overtime – getting off the only shots on goal and nearly scoring twice – it came down to strokes again. And a very odd decision by the referee.

Much like soccer penalty kicks, field hockey strokes are best of five. Apparently in a hurry to get on with the lower division title game, the referee summarily ended the CVMS-Oak Crest game after just one stroke each. Chaos ensued with both teams unsure of exactly what had just happened or why. Officials from the San Dieguito Boys & Girls Club, which administers the field hockey league, restored order by declaring joint champions.

The Bobcats champion team includes: Kate Betts, Hana Chitgari, Kirsten Chaplin, Madalyn Dischner, Meaghan Donnelly, Gabriela Enriquez, Sara Esmaili, Farah Farjood, Katie Gitre, Danielle Jackel, Gabriella Jimenez, Lexi Kaplan, Gabrielle LeRose, Chelsea Loyd, Shannon Perrone, Rylie Pope, Mikaila Reyes, Gia Silahian, Shannon Yogerst, Zari Edlin, Callie Petrey-Juarez, Lauren Scheg and Aashni Purohit.


The 2012 CVMS Bobcats championship Field Hockey team.