Carmel Valley resident elected to lead San Diego County Bar Association board


The San Diego County Bar Association (SDCBA) recently announced that Carmel Valley resident Dan Link will be sworn in as the Association’s President for 2011 on Dec. 3.

Link is a deputy district attorney with the San Diego District Attorney’s Office. Link has been praised by his peers for his skills as a trial attorney, his ability to connect to crime victims, and for having an unparalleled passion for serving the citizens of San Diego. He has served on the SDCBA Board of Directors for the past four years, and co-chairs the Association’s Bench-Bar Committee. He is active in community service projects including Habitat for Humanity, Community HousingWorks’ FaceLift, and the Adopt-a-Family holiday program.

Marvin Mizell has been elected to the position of president-elect, and will serve as SDCBA President in 2012. Link will succeed 2010 President Patrick Hosey, who will serve on the board as immediate past president in 2011.

Additionally, San Diego attorneys Nadia Bermudez, Sheryl Graf, Patrick Ojeil, Thomas Penfield and Victor Torres have been elected by the SDCBA’s membership to serve three-year terms on the Board beginning in 2011. Incoming President of the SDCBA’s New Lawyers Division (NLD) Anna Romanskaya will also serve a one-year term on the SDCBA Board of Directors in 2011.

Duane Horning, Marcella McLaughlin, Christopher Alexander, Tina Fryar, Alexander Gruft, Jeffrey Joseph, James Lund, Nory Pascua, Gita Varughese and Jon Williams will continue their service on the board in 2011.

“I look forward to leading this extraordinary organization in 2011, and continuing to engage the legal community as generations of Bar Presidents have successfully done before,” said Link. “My goal as president is to strengthen our connections: our connection to one another as attorneys, our connection to the bench, our connection with our clients, and our connection to the greater San Diego community.”

The full SDCBA Board of Directors will be sworn in to office on Dec. 3 at Stepping Up to the Bar, the Association’s annual holiday reception.

The SDCBA is governed by a 19-member board of directors. Directors are elected at large by the membership for three-year terms, with one director elected from East County, one from South Bay and one from North County. The President of the NLD serves a one-year term on the board as well.

Founded in 1899, the San Diego County Bar Association is the region’s oldest and largest law-related organization and is headquartered in downtown San Diego.