Carmel Valley transplant recipient will chair the 2014 San Diego Kidney Walk

Craig Ramseyer, of Carmel Valley, has been named the Corporate Chairman of the National Kidney Foundation’s San Diego Kidney Walk taking place May 18 at NTC Liberty Park.

Ramseyer is a partner at Procopio, Cory, Hargreaves & Savitch, LLP. As a kidney transplant recipient, Ramseyer has been a long-time board member and supporter of the NKF. Procopio Senior Counsel Katherine Knudsen, a fellow NKF board member and supporter, donated her kidney to Ramseyer in June 2009. The two first worked together in the late 1980s, and have been friends since, and have been working together for the last 11 years.

“I am honored to lead this inspirational event, not only because of my personal connection to the cause, but because there are so many other San Diegans who are at risk of developing kidney disease,” said Ramseyer. “Each year this disease kills more people than breast and prostate cancer combined. By participating in the Kidney Walk, we’re all helping sound the alert about the public health problem of kidney disease and urging those at risk to get tested.”

There are over 73 million Americans at risk of developing kidney disease. Those with diabetes, high blood pressure, age over 60 or a family history of kidney failure are more likely to develop kidney disease.

Joining Ramseyer as this year’s Kidney Walk Grand Marshall is Assemblyman Brian Maienschein representing the 77th Assembly District. In addition to Procopio, Cory, Hargreaves & Savitch, the Kidney Walk is also being sponsored by Dietz, Gilmor & Chazen.

The Kidney Walk is the nation’s largest walk to fight kidney disease. Held in nearly 100 communities, the event raises awareness and funds lifesaving programs that educate and support patients, their families and those at risk.

The walk will be held at NTC Liberty Station, Point Loma on May 18. Registration begins at 8 a.m. and the walk starts at 9:30 a.m. To register for the event, call the National Kidney Foundation at 818-783-8153 or register your team online at