Torrey Pines Freddie Awards Night celebrates athletic achievements


Torrey Pines High School hosted its 2nd annual Freddie Awards show in June to celebrate another great year of athletic achievement. The Falcons won a national, state, and a record 11 San Diego CIF and 15 League championship titles in the 2015-16 academic year. Highlights included the boys tennis team winning a national tournament, boys golf placing first in the California CIF Championships and the following teams being crowned San Diego CIF Champions: Boys and Girls Tennis (26th consecutive title), Boys and Girls Golf, Boys Cross Country, Girls Volleyball, Girls Soccer, Boys and Girls Swim & Dive, Girls Lacrosse and Girls Track

The event honored some of the best athletes, teams, coaches and performances at Torrey Pines’ version of the Academy Awards with guest host Scott Kaplan of Mighty 1090 sports radio. The awards are named after Torrey Pines mascot, Freddie Falcon. Following are the Freddie award winners:

Torrey Pines Legend Award: Ed Burke, football coach

Male Athlete of the Year: Jacob Brumm, boys tennis

Female Athlete of the Year: Sierra Campisano, girls basketball

Girls Team of the Year: Girls Lacrosse

Boys Team of the Year: Boys Golf

Most Inspirational Athlete: Jackson Baere, rugby

Most Inspirational Team: Girls Soccer

Sportsman of the Year: Isabella Hoang, girls basketball

Teammate of the Year: Sammy Cirino, field hockey

JV/Frosh Team of the Year: JV Boys Basketball

Assistant Coach of the Year: Tim Staycer, football

Coach of the Year: John Olive, boys basketball

Fan of the Year: Ali Dehbozorgi “Ali G”

Honorary Falcon of the Year¨ Anna Scipione, ace photographer

Forty seven seniors were also honored with the “Next Level Falcon Award”. These scholar athletes were acknowledged as one of the largest senior class of recruits from any high school in San Diego County. College coaches and admissions officers recognize Torrey Pines High School for both academic and athletic excellence with Falcons competing on teams and/or individually at the regional, state and national level. Following are the Next Level Falcon Award honorees who have committed to continue their athletic and academic success at 40 colleges and universities nationwide:

Arizona: Alec Parker (rugby), Zachary Knobbe-Hewitt (rugby) and Max Lyle (rugby); ASU: Benny Ruffolo (rugby); Babson: Luke Talman (lacrosse); Boston College: Jillian Strockis (volleyball); Brandies: Noah Ayers (swimming/diving); Bucknell: Haley Pogue (water polo); Cal Poly SLO: Ara Suhadolnik (lacrosse); Carnegie Mellon: Jack Sampiere (soccer); Chaminade U of Honolulu: Isabella Tessitore (volleyball); College of Idaho: Triastan Alesi (football); Duquesne: Sammy Cirino (lacrosse); Fairfield: Max McGuire (lacrosse); Georgetown: Sarah Trissel (soccer); Harvard: Beau Botkiss (lacrosse); Kansas: Michael Caylor (swimming/diving); Lafayette: Carly Kutschke (volleyball); Marist: Anais Mathes (water polo) ; New Hampshire: Serena Mueller (volleyball); NYU: Jack Heller (basketball); Ohio Wesleyan: Josh Sherman (lacrosse); Oregon: Sierra Campisano (basketball); Pomona: Katherine Lauerman (swimming/diving); Pepperdine: Marissa Woytowitz (swimming/diving); Santa Barbara CC: Matt Feeler (football); SDSU: Steven Mason (football); Swarthmore: James Rutledge (baseball); TCU: Hannah Schraeger (volleyball); Tufts: Shannon Yogerst (field hockey); UC Davis: Farah Farjood (field hockey); UC Berkeley: Gabi Jimenez (field hockey) and Nicole Anderson (volleyball); UCLA: Savannah Simo (volleyball) and Matthew Zimmer (rugby); UCSD: Mikayla Reyes (softball) and Sreeganesh Manoharan (tennis); UC Santa Cruz: Diego Majewski (swimming/diving); U of Chicago: Jared Rosen (football); UNC: Greer Moseman (volleyball); U of Pennsylvania: Christina Park (golf); Vassar: Max Spencer (baseball) and Rylie Pope (field hockey); VCU: Nicole Morris (lacrosse); Washington: Cailin Onosko (volleyball); Western Kentucky: Christina Bragado (soccer).