Mets win Del Mar Little League Majors Championship

Top row, from left: coach Rick Sanborn, Jake Scott, AJ Mattingly, coach Mark Mattingly, Parker Williams, Ryan Sanborn, coach Tom Lofaro; bottom row: Anthony Hadnot, Tyler Lofaro, Cole Shearson, Nick Pauley, Corbin Fricker, Zach Schwartzberg, Jake Farfel, Jacob Anfuso (and team booster Lil’Pauley).

The Del Mar Little League Majors Championship was decided on Saturday, June 1, with coach Mark Mattingly’s National League Champion Mets taking on coach Joe Caprice’s American League Champion Rangers. The game was scoreless through three innings with superb pitching by the Mets’ Parker Williams and the Rangers’ Bryson Shores.

In the fourth inning, AJ Mattingly hits a lead-off double, and the Mets take the lead on a Ryan Sanborn two-run homerun. The Mets add an insurance run in the fifth inning with a Jake Scott lead-off double and Jacob Anfuso’s follow-up clutch base hit. In the end, the Mets win the Del Mar Little League Majors Championship (the Del Mar Cup) 3-0. This championship marks coach Mattingly’s second Del Mar Little League Championship in three years.