National Merit Scholars named

A large contingent of local students learned this week they have won National Merit $2,500 Scholarships. They were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding finalists in the 2010 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The scholarship corporation is funding most of these single-payment $2,500 scholarships.

Local public school winners include:

Amin Aalipour, TPHS; Emily D. Cai, TPHS; Jacob J. Cole, TPHS; David W. Ding, Canyon Crest Academy; Mollie S. Friedlander, TPHS; Ilya I. Gaidarov, TPHS: Diane T. Jeon, TPHS; Chang Liu, TPHS: Jung Hoon Liu, TPHS; Harding H. Luan. TPHS; Kevin Qian, TPHS; Weston J. Staubus, TPHS; Connor P. Toohill, Cathedral Catholic; Alec. B. Wilkens, Canyon Crest Academy; Christopher K. Wu, TPHS: Perren Yang, Canyon Crest Academy; Kelu Zhao, TPHS; Matthias A. Nikaj, Francis Parker; Patrick Q. White, Francis Parker.

For more information, visit