San Diego Surf ‘98-’99 BU13 Team wins two tournaments in a row


Congratulations to the San Diego Surf ‘98-’99 BU13 Team and Coach Michael “Nico” Nicholson for winning back to back tournaments.

They won the Surf Thanksgiving Tournament in November and recently came out on top at Legends Tournament in Chino Hills.

This past weekend was extremely exciting with the boys winning 1-0, 3-1, 2-0, 2-0 and headed into overtime in the finals tied 1-1 against a very strong Legends team. Goalkeeper Tyler Dean was outstanding and blocked 4 penalty kicks, while Jake “Edu” Edwards and Owen “back flip” Achieris connected on their kicks to assure the win for Surf.

Izzy Gutierrez, Chris Depetro, JT Henderson, Greg Matus and Jordan Karam also scored goals for their team this weekend.

Jimmy Ryan and Michael Stewart impressed with their speed and passing while Peter Copp, Nick Lagotta, Connor Robinson, Cameron Bishop and Ryan Coughlin held strong in the back and midfield. Goal keepers Tyler Dean and Jake Mendelsohn allowed only 2 goals and continue to impress. This team grows stronger each day and has two upcoming tournaments as they get ready for National Cup in February and March. Go Surf!

Not pictured, but missed, Gabe Gitler.