Sharks 8U Boys All-Stars win championship

The Sharks 8U Boys All-Stars, coached by Tom Levenberg, clinched the Escondido New Years’ Kickoff Tournament in dramatic fashion. After a long battle during official time against a second Sharks All-Star team coached by Tom Esses, the championship match was decided by penalty kicks. The game ended after Xander Crouch, Benjamin Yung and Michael Diltz each scored goals and goalie Ryan Rechs denied three kicks, putting the game out of reach.

Coach Levenberg was proud of how the boys played. ‘These are the most talented players I have ever coached and they really came together as a team,’ he said. ‘These kids showed great sportsmanship and determination.’ Levenberg also appreciated the sacrifices from the team families who canceled cross-country vacations and cut Mammoth ski trips short to play in the tournament.

Pictured: back row, L-R: Head Coach Tom Levenberg, Coach Tim Wakefield. Middle row: Billy Griesbach, Henry Garewal, Michael Diltz, Magnus Falkiewicz, Xander Crouch, Zain Mehio, Rian Singh. Front row: Harrison Wakefield, Ryan Rechs, Joey Levenberg, Benjamin Yung, Bjorn Hawe. Not pictured: Coach Dan Crouch.