Solana Beach Biz leaders honored at dinner

The 2009 Solana Beach Chamber of Commerce Business of the Year Award went to the Boys & Girls Club of San Dieguito, it was announced at the chamber’s 66th annual Installation Dinner on March 25, at the Lomas Santa Fe County Club in Solana Beach.

More than 90 Members, community leaders and guests attended the event, which honored outstanding businesses and individuals for their dedication to the Solana Beach community.

Mary Jane Boyd and Jim Nelson received the Civic Member of the Year Award for their significant contributions during the 2009 chamber year.

Marcia Lee was honored with the 2009 Solana Beach Chamber Ambassador of the Year Award in recognition of her commitment and support of the Solana Beach Chamber.

The Longest Membership Honoree Award went to Carl Turnbull, Pacific Executive Plaza, who has been a chamber member for 31 years. His loyalty and longtime involvement with the Solana Beach Chamber is unsurpassed.

In addition to the presentation of the awards, the chamber installed its 2010 Executive Board of Directors: David Carroll, retired from advertising and marketing, was sworn in as 2010 chamber president; Peter Zahn, an attorney with Counsel Direct Law Services, was sworn in as vice president; Leslie Martin, Leslie Martin CPA, was sworn in as secretary; J.P. Kehoe III, assistant vice president of Union Bank, was sworn in as treasurer; and Stephen I. Ostrow, attorney, was sworn in as sergeant at arms.

The chamber 2010 Board of Directors was also sworn in during the event. Returning Board Members include: Bryan Fuller of Java Depot; Martin Schmidt, attorney, and Mark Tackabery of American Assets Inc. New to the board in 2010 are Carolyn Cohen, broker and owner of Realty Executives Pacific Gold, and Peter House, president of the 101 Merchants Association.

Returning Chamber Ambassadors sworn in: Marcia Lee, president, San Diego County Credit Union; Charlie Burkett, Union Bank; David A. Cain, New York Life Insurance; Ryan Godfrey, San Diego County Credit Union; Cheryl Gorman, Ginisis Group Inc.; Terri Novy, State Farm; Susie Riccio, Have-A-Fit Tennis Shoes; Darren Roach, Farmers Insurance Group; Jason Smith, State Farm; and Jenna Yost, Comerica Bank.

Entertainment for the evening was provided by harpist Devora Susman and photography by Dennis Way of ABI Photography.

Organizers behind the event were: Frida Silveira, executive director of the Solana Beach Chamber; Carolyn Cohen, Solana Beach Chamber board member; Mary Tomlinson, marketing director of the Solana Beach Chamber; and Jason Runyan, VIC specialist.