Special night at Solana Beach City Hall


It was a special night at Solana Beach City Hall on Dec. 10 with the city council reorganizing and a fire captain retiring.

Lesa Heebner, Joe Kellejian and Dave Roberts were sworn in for another four years on the Solana Beach City Council.

The three incumbents were not challenged in the 2008 council election, which was subsequently canceled as permitted by state law.

This was the second time Heebner and Roberts took the oath of office and the fourth for Kellejian. The council members will serve through 2012.

Passing the gavel

Next, the council appointed Mike Nichols as mayor and Tom Campbell as deputy mayor for the next year. Council members rotate through the mayor role on an annual basis.

Outgoing Mayor Dave Roberts, who served for half the year, was honored by the city council, staff and community.

“Your commitment to the city is exceptional and extraordinary,” said Mary Jane Boyd, Robert’s campaign manager.

Along with the traditional gavel, Roberts received an engraved desk plaque, a sweater and a money clip recognizing his service as mayor from the city and city council.

“I never thought I was suppose to enjoy this as much as I have the last six months,” Roberts said.

Retiring Fire Captain

That same evening, Solana Beach Fire Captain Vic Johnson was recognized for his 28 years of service to the city. Johnson recently retired from the fire department.

Fire Chief and City Manager David Ott presented him with his badge attractively set in a small glass encasement.

“I started when Jimmy Carter was president and Bruce Springsteen released ‘The River,’” Johnson, who overcame an injury that had doctors predicting he would never walk again, said. “It’s been a great ride.”