Thirty-seven Torrey Pines High School scholar-athletes honored

Torrey Pines High School recently honored 37 seniors with the “Next Level Falcon Award” at a luncheon sponsored by Torrey Pines Pop Warner Football and Cheer.

Falcon scholar-athletes are prized recruits in baseball, cross country, equestrian, field hockey, football, golf, lacrosse, rowing, rugby, sailing, soccer, softball, swimming, tennis, track and field and volleyball. Many compete on teams and/or individually at the regional, state and national level. For example, Falcon teams won eight CIF Championships in the 2013-2014 academic year: Girls Cross Country, Boys Cross Country, Girls Golf (plus State champs four years in a row), Boys Golf, Girls Tennis (24 years in a row), Girls Volleyball and Girls Swimming (five years in a row).

These are the 37 Next Level Falcon Award honorees who have committed to continue their athletic and academic success at 30 colleges and universities nationwide:

•Bryant University: Bryce Cady (lacrosse)

•Cal Poly San Luis Obispo: Crystal Lore (swimming) and Pearu Pold (swimming)

•Campbell University: Amelia Armstrong (volleyball)

•College of Idaho: Kyle Ashby (football) and Dwayne Hines (football)

•Colorado Mesa: Eli Suhadolnik (lacrosse)

•Columbia University: Tal Braude (cross country/track)

•Fresno State: Natalie Chaffin (lacrosse)

•Iowa State University: Macy Vrabel (soccer)

•Marquette: Owen Weselak (lacrosse)

•Northwestern: Sarah Cho (golf)

•Pomona College: Kelsey Buchanan (softball) and Robert Simsiman (baseball)

•SDSU: Georgia Lacey (golf)

•Stevens: Tommy Baronner (baseball)

•St. Mary’s: Christina Shubat (rowing)

•Syracuse: Chelsea Mapes (lacrosse)

•Tufts University: Connor Lansdale (lacrosse) and Taylor Nordan (golf)

•UC Berkeley: Camille Doan (lacrosse) and Ali Zimmer (field hockey)

•UC Davis: Madison Cohen (field hockey)

•UCLA: Reily Beuchler (volleyball), Corey Shaun (golf) and KC Yeagley (rowing)

•UCSB: Zoe Purcell (soccer)

•UCSD: Rebecca Seaberry (volleyball)

•USC: Henry Ji (tennis)

•USD: Camelia Tirandazi (soccer)

•University of Illinois: Palin Ruttanasupagid (golf)

•University of North Carolina: Kacey McKinnon (lacrosse)

•University of Pennsylvania: Aimee Stephenson (volleyball)

•University of Pittsburgh: Courtney Coate (soccer)

•University of Tennessee-Martin: Samantha Hill (equestrian)

•Western New England: Grace Trupe (field hockey)

•Yale: Jennifer Peng (golf)