Solana Beach council appoints citizens to commissions

The Solana Beach City Council appointed a number of citizens to commissions during the Jan. 27 meeting.

Approximately half of the city’s citizen commission members’ two-year term appointments expire every January, according to the staff report. Four commissions had 13 scheduled vacancies at the end of January 2016. There was also an unscheduled vacancy on the Public Arts Commission due to a recent resignation. Additionally, there were seven openings available for appointment on the newly created Climate Action Commission.

“Thank you, for everybody who applied,” said Mayor David Zito. “We had a lot of good applicants.”

Although there were two openings, the council appointed one person to the Budget and Finance Commission. Councilwoman Ginger Marshall nominated Judith Hamilton, but the motion did not pass as only she and Zito voted in favor. Deputy Mayor Peter Zahn and Councilwoman Lesa Heebner voted against the motion, and Councilman Mike Nichols was absent from the meeting.

“She’s very committed to this community,” said Marshall, adding that Hamilton, a 39-year citizen of Solana Beach, has worked as a certified public accountant for 38 years. “That’s why I’m nominating her.”

Heebner suggested nominating current commissioner Craig Nelson for the position, saying that he has served the city on the commission for several years. But because it was Marshall’s nomination and the council was divided, the matter was continued to an unspecified date.

“I fully appreciate the contributions he’s made over the years,” Zito said regarding Nelson. “However, the appointment does go to Councilmember Marshall, and reading the resume for Ms. Hamilton, it seemed like it was certainly a job that she could contribute to.”

Although absent, through email Nichols nominated current commissioner Jeff Anderman for the second spot on the five-member commission, which provides input to the council regarding the city’s operating budget. With a motion by Heebner, the council voted 3-1 and appointed Anderman. Marshall voted against the motion. Anderman’s term ends in January 2018.

The council appointed nine people to the Climate Action Commission, which the council created in November to help develop a climate action plan for the city.

To assist with the plan’s development, the nine-member advisory group will help update the city’s greenhouse gas emissions inventory, set reduction targets, implement mitigation measures and perform periodic monitoring, verification and evaluations. The commission now has two council members, five residents and two non-resident members with an environmental or scientific background.

In a 3-1 vote, the council appointed Judy Hegenauer, Mary Yang, Shawna McGarry, Steven Goetsch and David Kramer to the commission. Three terms will end in January 2017 and two terms will end in January 2018. Marshall voted against the motion.

“We did end up with a significant number of applicants for the Climate Action Committee, which is a really, really good outcome because we have a lot of very qualified applicants,” Zito said.

“I was amazed at the qualifications of all those who applied,” Heebner agreed.

In a 3-1 vote, the council also appointed professionals Nicole Capretz and Chester Koblinsky to the commission. One term will end in January 2017 and the other will end in January 2018. Marshall voted against the motion.

Additionally, the council unanimously appointed Heebner and Zahn to serve on the commission.

The council unanimously appointed current commissioner Linda Swindell, Mac Law and Sharon Gross to the Parks and Recreation Commission. Their terms end in January 2018. The seven-member commission reviews certain matters regarding the city’s parks and programs, and conducts certain city events.

The council unanimously appointed current commissioner Harry Grossman, Sharon Klein and Nancy Pfeiffer to the Public Arts Commission. Although there were five open positions, they were the only three people who applied to the commission that had not been appointed to other commissions. Their terms end in January 2018. The seven-member commission participates in reviewing certain matters regarding community art opportunities and conducts certain city events.

Finally, the council unanimously appointed four people to the View Assessment Commission, a seven-member commission that reviews feasible solutions for development when an assessment request is filed and makes definitive decisions on projects utilizing the city’s adopted guidelines and toolkit. The council unanimously appointed Paul Bishop and Gary Garber to the commission. Zito nominated Bishop and Marshall nominated Garber. The council also unanimously appointed Pat Coad and Molly Fleming to the commission. All four terms end in January 2018.