TPHS student among the honorees at 46th Annual National Football Foundation Scholar-Leader-Athlete Awards Banquet


The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame – Walter J. Zable/San Diego Chapter will be holding its 46th Annual Scholar-Leader-Athlete Banquet Friday, April 6 at 6 p.m. at the Scottish Rite Center in Mission Valley.

This prestigious banquet will be honoring 26 high school and three college football players from San Diego County for their outstanding effort on the football field and in the classroom, including the Willie Jones Most Inspirational Player Award recipient, St. Augustine High’s Tysean White.Torrey Pines High School student Louis Bickett will be among the honorees.

These athletes will join an impressive group of past NFF Scholar-Leader Athletes from San Diego, including the late Junior Seau and former Helix High stars Reggie Bush and Alex Smith. All of the Scholar-Leader-Athlete Award winners will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

Scholar-Leader Athlete’s were nominated by their coaches based on a combination of their performance on the field, grades in the classroom and volunteer work in the community. All of the nominations were looked over by the NFF-Walter J. Zable/San Diego Chapter board members.

The NFF-Walter J. Zable/San Diego Chapter is sponsored by many in the community, including the Chargers Community Foundation, Higgs, Fletcher & Mack LLP and the Zable Foundation.