Torrey Pines spotlights student achievement at Freddie Awards


Torrey Pines High School hosted its first Freddie Awards show on May 28 to celebrate another great year of athletic achievement. The Falcons won a national, state, 8 San Diego CIF and 12 League championship titles in the 2014-15 academic year.

Another remarkable accomplishment is a record 52 scholar-athletes from the Class of 2015 being recruited to 39 colleges nationwide.

This inaugural event honored some of the best athletes, teams, coaches and performances at Torrey Pines’ version of the Academy Awards, with guest host Scott Kaplan of Mighty 1090 sports radio. The awards are named after Torrey Pines mascot Freddie Falcon.

The Freddie award winners are:

Male Athlete of the Year: CJ Stubbs

Female Athlete of the Year: Sierra Campisano

Girls Team of the Year: Tennis

Boys Team of the Year: Basketball

Most Inspirational Athlete: Matt Feeler

Most Inspirational Team: Cheer

Sportsman of the Year: Christian Gange

Teammate of the Year: Roland Wheeler

JV/Frosh Team of the Year: Freshman Football

Coach of the Year: Brennan Dean, girls volleyball

Fan of the Year: Marinee Payne, drama teacher

Fifty-two seniors were also honored with the “Next Level Falcon Award.” These scholar- athletes were acknowledged as the largest senior class of recruits from any high school in San Diego County. They accounted for approximately 25 percent or 1 out of 4 of the region’s athletic recruits on the San Diego Union Tribune Next Level 2014-5 List.

These are the Next Level Falcon Award honorees who have committed to continue their athletic and academic success at 38 colleges and universities nationwide:

Air Force: Roland Wheeler and Caden Wolfson (lacrosse)

Amherst: Clare Young (field hockey) and Kelsey Chen (tennis)

Arizona: Jeremy Fleet (rugby)

Auburn: Gianna Montini (soccer)

Bates: Sandy Plashkes (football)

Bellarmine: Jackson Lienhart (lacrosse)

Beloit: Madison Lombard (basketball)

Boston College: Camille Oemcke (volleyball)

BYU: Macenzi McGuire (track and cross country)

Claremont McKenna: Brian Wahl (football), Omar Rodriguez (football) and Chiara Schwab (tennis)

Delaware: Blake Gagen (lacrosse)

Eastern Kentucky: Cassie Knutson and Hannah Miller (volleyball)

Gonzaga: Lucy Ferrari (soccer)

Johns Hopkins: Brandon Hong (football)

Lesley: Rachel Buckley (soccer)

Lewis & Clark: Annie McCutchan (golf)

Manhattanville: Danyela Swidler (soccer)

Monterey Bay: Justin Woo (golf)

Nebraska: Cole Klemke (baseball)

North Carolina: Tailin Song (golf)

Notre Dame: Jake Singer (baseball) and Ian Aschieris (soccer)

Princeton: Joey DeMarco (football)

San Diego Christian: Shelbianne Evans (soccer)

San Diego State: Jack Bailey (football), Otto Vanhatalo (golf) and Raul de la Torre (tennis)

SMU: Adam Alsadek (lacrosse)

Tufts: Henry Hollen (lacrosse)

UC Berkeley: Jamie Cheatham (golf) and Savannah Rennie (volleyball)

UC Davis: Natalie Saddic (soccer)

UCLA: Jacqueline Garner (cross country/track)

UC Merced: Sean Paddie (volleyball)

UCSB: Eva Buechler (soccer)

UCSD: Michael Lin (badminton)

University of Chicago: Charles Pei (tennis) and Max Liu (tennis)

USC: Kyle Hurt and Cameron Stubbs (baseball); Rong Ji (golf); Taylor Seamans (cross country/track)

Vanderbilt: Alex Rasmussen (lacrosse)

Virginia Tech: Anissa Dadkhah (soccer)

Washington: Mason O’Rosky (rugby)

Westmont: Asher Booth (soccer)

William & Mary: Alayna Tomlinson (field hockey)