Intel Corp.

Meet the San Diego City Council District 1 candidates

Five candidates — Barbara Bry, Ray Ellis, Kyle Heiskala, Bruce Lightner, Louis Rodolico — seek to represent District 1 on the San Diego City Council, which covers Carmel Valley, Del Mar Mesa, Del Mar Heights, La Jolla, Pacific Highlands Ranch, Torrey Hills, Torrey Pines and University City. The seat is currently held by Sherri Lightner, who must step down due to term limits.

If no candidate receives a majority of votes in the June 7 primary election, the top two vote-getters will face each other in a November run-off. Following are biographies (in alphabetical order) provided by the candidates, along with their responses to a set of questions posed by this...